Tuktuk Lady interview "My day starts at 4.30 am…."

Tuktuk Lady interview "My day starts at 4.30 am…."

The huge majority of Tuktuk drivers work on the streets in Phnom Penh nowadays are male. T here are only few women transporting passengers as this is commonly regarded as men’s work. Along the street near Toul Tom Pong market there is a Tuktuk lady who stands by most of the time.

Q: Would you mind if I would like to know about your background, please?
A: My name is Ky Neang, 54, was born in Koh Thom, Kandal Province. I have worked as Tuktuk driver since 2013. I was married in 1985 and have four sons, two of them are deafmute. My husband works as a teacher in Toul Tom Pong Primary school. I also have to take care of my parents, who are disabled. In my family, I have a huge responsibility for my parents and sons.

Q: How much do you earn per day?
A: I can only earn between 5$ to 10$ per day, sometimes 20$ or 25$ depending on how many rides I get. In some case, for a long ride to the outskirt of town, I could earn approximately 35$.

Q: Can the money that you gain from driving Tuktuk support your whole family?
A: I am poor and unhealthy. But the money that I and my husband earn is enough to support my family every day.

Q: Are you the owner the Tuktuk?
A: Yes, I am the owner.

Q: Do you have another job besides driving Tuktuk?
A: Currently I have only one job. But back in 2007 I sold fruits such as pineapple, water lemon, and driving Tuktuk is the last job in my life.

Q: Why do you choose Tuktuk driver as a job?
A: I think driving Tuktuk can help to support my family. Regarding my previous jobs none of them could possibly support my living like my current job. That is why I chose driving Tuktuk.

Q: What time do you usually start working?
A: My typical day starts at 4:30am, then work into the day, not stopping until seven or eight in the evening.

Q: Have you ever been cheated by a customer?
A: No, I have not experienced yet.

Q: How much English can you speak with foreign customer?
A: With no real formal education or schooling, I can only speak a little bit English to communicate with my foreign customers.

Q: What kind of problems have you been facing with this job?
A: The only problems I have encountered have come from the men I work alongside. They always discriminate against me and say something to offend or despise me, but I do not care what they say.

Q: Does your family say something against you?
A: My family does not discriminate against me.

Q: Do you want to change to do another job, such as social work, or something else…?
A: No, I don’t. I love my job, with a passion and willing to drive Tuktuk forever without changing to another job.


Date 17 May 2016
Interview: Suon Tithbotomroth



Add new comment

Add new comment